No……. thank you

I bought my first Bikini Kill Cd’s in 2003 when I was a 17 year old high school student. Prior to this I was listening to the pop-punk/ alternative music of the day. It seemed there were fun bands like Blink 182, or politically conscious bands like Anti-Flag… but as a gay youth I thought, “Where is the punk band with a gay message?” I listened to “CD version” and “The Singles”… They blew my mind! Finally, music with a message I could relate to and that reflected how I felt. Finding Bikini Kill meant validation in a fucked up environment. You guys helped me get through high school and sort of lead me to other great music. Thank you.

One Response to “No……. thank you”

  1. Absolutely! Riot Grrrl/Bikini Kill and many others gave Queer kids like us a place to feel safe and accepted. Bikini kill positively energizes me just as much today as they did when I was 16 and I’m a 40 year old man.

Leave a Reply

