In response to your Bikini Kill archive influence post…

I grew up in a small rural town in Australia with 2000 people. Everyone I knew listened to Britney Spears and the Backstreet Boys as I was growing up. I was this fucked up kid who cut herself and got picked last for the sports team. I hit puberty and started taping my breasts down because I was ashamed to be turning into a woman. I’d receive taunts from boys and girls about my body changing and I was so fucking ashamed of it. I went from a straight A student to a crying mess. Then when I turned 15 I found my Dad’s guitar and through Grunge fell onto your music. After watching you dance crazily around on Bull in the Heather.
Somewhere on the otherside of the world years before was a woman screaming at me through the speakers telling me it was not only alright that I was a woman, that I had more power than I could ever imagine. It was okay to be angry at the world, and it was okay to be the only person at my school who listened to grunge (for lack of a better word).
Disappointed that Bikini Kill was no more but excited at the prospect of Le Tigre playing at the Big Day Out in adelaide I travelled 900kms and skipped school to come see you play.
And my god I was not disappointed.
I’ve stayed in touch with everything you have been doing since. I graduated top of my class and Im now playing and managing my own band. Starting my own zine, organising my music show as part of a local festival as well as recently travelling overseas to indulge myself in the foreign music culture. Im part of a collective of people who now label ourselfs as Wholesale Meat Music. (being a fan of walking contradictions oddly enough has vegan/vegetarian members and indeed has nothing to do with meat)
We have opened up the first creative commons record store that we know of and host shows around the City of Adelaide Australia.
I would love to interview you as part of our zine! I really want our first edition to have a strong feminist theme.
I just want to thank you for the bottom of my heart. For everything.

Leave a Reply

