“I like Fucking”

i remember exactly when i first heard bikini kill. I was a junior in High school, 16 years old at my best friends, Monica’s house. She was actually downloading some songs off of napster and saw the title, “I like fucking.” We downloaded it and listened. We couldn’t fucking believe it. It was awesome. I was in love. I never heard something so powerful. We listened to it over and over again, and started to look for more songs. I walked to Barns & Noble and bought “Reject All American” I felt like i existed. I love to sing, and been singing since forever. I would sing along as loud as I could, everywhere. I love Bikini Kill. I admire Kathleen Hanna for not being quite….for singing, telling her story….helped me tell my story. If she ever reads this, know that your music, your words saved me. I was a quite dorky girl, and now I found my voice. Oh god, alien she….fucking love it. Pussy Whipped and The Singles are my favorites. I love it all. I play a CD, sing with you, strap on my guitar and jump in the fucking air because I feel free for a good 30 minutes.
Oh- Back in Austin, Texas i saw Le Tigre. Fucking awesome. It was so damn hot and I was so nervous. I danced my ass off. I actually got heat deprived and puked all over outside Emo’s, but I didn’t get to say, “Hi, you , the band, are fucking awesome. I love you, and my best friend Monica, loves you too.”

yours Truly,
Kristen

Leave a Reply

