It’s okay to be who I am, and if you don’t agree then you can fuck off.

As a freshman in high school four years ago I was anxiously dealing with realizations about my sexuality. I grew up with very open and liberal parents, but live in a society that demonizes what they aren’t willing to understand. That year a queer girl picked me out of the crowd and befriended me. She knew about culture and music, and her love of Le Tigre rubbed off on me. From there I discovered a whole strong community of females on the internet. The next semester I took her to see Le Tigre for her birthday, I still remember my parents giving me money for the tickets and then driving half an hour to drop us off. I was so struck by Kathleen Hanna I began to research her extensively. I learnt about Bikini Kill and ate it all up. The music helped me realize I could be strong. It’s okay to be who I am, and if you don’t agree then you can fuck off.

Today I am a strong queer woman, and feel fortunate to be able to fight for what’s right. Without Bikini Kill/Kathleen Hanna I don’t know when or if I would have realized how inherently oppressed I am. I don’t know if I would have fully embraced myself.

It’s quite often that I’ll say to a friend “…Do you know who Kathleen Hanna is? ……Well, have you heard of Bikini Kill?…..Okay, let me tell you:”

-nina

One Response to “It’s okay to be who I am, and if you don’t agree then you can fuck off.”

  1. Wow, I completely related at first to the friend part, but then I completely agree with the second paragraph as well. ❤

Leave a Reply

