Their music was angry, and so was I.

bk in hawaii
“I’m so sorry if I’m alienating some of you. Your whole fucking culture
alienates me”

These lyrics from “White Boy” by Bikini Kill represent exactly how I’ve
felt for the past 8 years. I’ve grown up with an unrelenting feeling of
bitterness, depression and resentment towards a culture that normalizes
rape. Bikini Kill felt this way too. When I discovered Bikini Kill, I
found my voice. Their music was angry, and so was I. But along with the
anger in their music was something that I didn’t have; hope. Bikini Kill
helped me realize that it was possible to be both angry and hopeful at
the same time, and this was extremely important for me. Listening to
Bikini Kill, even to this day, is therapeutic. Their lyrics and music
helped me heal and I am so fucking thankful for that.

Kayla H.

Leave a Reply

