I didn’t get caught, either

My first exposure to Bikini Kill was when I was 14, either 1993 or early 1994. A guy friend of mine talked me into going to the Soul Kitchen in El Cajon, CA. I was grounded, one of few times ever in my life, and I climbed out of my bedroom window to meet my friend around the corner, where he and his parents were going to pick me up in their giant van. I remember I wore a Nirvana t-shirt. Kathleen was sick and couldn’t really sing. I was very intimidated by the crowd, satchels and bowl cuts and cardigans filled the little club. I know that being able to say that I saw Bikini Kill is a big deal and know that I was lucky to have my friend convince me to go. I didn’t get caught, either.

Monika Seitz Vega

Leave a Reply

