Double Dare Ya

Some years ago, when I was in junior high, I walked into my local record store (Siren Records in Doylestown, PA), looking for a Babes in Toyland album. The guy working there told me they didn’t have the album I was looking for, but did I want to try listening to this other band and did I have a record player? I thought of the turntable-speaker combo I had at home, yes, and he handed me a Bikini Kill 7″ told me to give it a try. I took it home, listened to it, and it rocked my 14-year-old world. This was 1994 and I have been a fan ever since. The earnest, driving– yet at times playful– female frontedness of the band was the soundtrack for so much of what I was experiencing as a cynical feminist punk teenager….It just made sense. “Pussy Whipped” was my go-to album. A couple years later when my sister and some of our girl friends started a band, it was only natural that the first songs we played were Bikini Kill songs. In Julia’s living room, we belted out the words to “Feels Blind” and “Double Dare Ya” and that was how our band got started… In fact, one day as we practiced, we were so excited about what we were doing that we ran out front and told the mailman, “Hey, we’re really excited about this! Listen!” and played “Feels Blind” for him. I’m not sure he was as excited about it as we were, but it was a good start.

__________________________________________________

Regards,
Allie Pope Burger

Leave a Reply

