On my Casio boombox

looking up
Yes!!! I believe it was in 1991. I was 15 years old and living in a suburb of LA. I got a hold of a tape of a tape of a tape from a friend and it blew my mind! I was so inspired by the notion of sisterhood and girl power. Two years later I went to college and declared a Women’s Studies major 🙂

I actually have a VHS taping of them playing at the Hong Kong Cafe in LA. It was probably in 2003 or 2004? It was around the same time as a Yo Yo A Go Go festival, I think.

My favorite memories of seeing Bikini Kill are: the first time at the Jabberjaw in LA; and another time in San Diego. A friend of mine was recently killed by her boyfriend (who was strung out on crack at the time), and I had a nice heart to heart with Kathleen Hanna about it. She dedicated a song to my friend and it meant a lot to me.

I would say Bikini Kill changed the course of my life, and I wouldn’t be who I am today if I hadn’t listened to that cassette tape on my Casio boombox…

– Madeline Yang

One Response to “On my Casio boombox”

Leave a Reply

