my BK story

Bikini Kill was the source of of my “Click”… that moment when feminism first makes sense to you and your own personal life.

I was sitting in my friend’s basement, and she played Suck My Left One. I had never felt so validated and energized before. I felt as though I had always been trying to relate to music that wasn’t really meant for me. Bikini Kill was music that was effortless to relate to. It was really empowering. Their music got me through many hard times in my life. They were my early morning fuel before I faced daily gay-bashings at my high school and abuse from my brother. They gave me strength and they gave me hope. I carry that energy into my writing, projects, healing process, and films I create.

Squish,
Jacquie P.

Leave a Reply

