“Please try not to say the f-word so much.”

Aside from Bikini Kill convincing me that I did not have to look like I could be on Baywatch to be hot, my big Bikini Kill story is this: in high school, I had a boyfriend who fancied himself a bass player, so naturally I used this to borrow his bass and learn how to play myself. The only song I ever really learned was “I Like Fucking.” I hid the tabs in my room, fearful that my mom would yell at me for learning such a “terrible” song. She eventually found the tabs (and lyrics). Her only comment: “Please try not to say the f-word so much.”

Jessie

2 Responses to ““Please try not to say the f-word so much.””

  1. Funny that you played bass to that song. I remember we lifted the bassline from Pay You Back with Interest by Dana Gillespie. shhh don’t tell anyone!

Leave a Reply

