my bikini kill story

Bikini Kill….oh what can i say? Unfortunately i was too young to attend any of their shows (lets just say i was starting kindergarten when they were breaking up) but that doesn’t mean i enjoy them any less. I first heard them in the end of my freshman year at high school, when “Rebel Girl” was pretty much mirroring what i was going through. The war cry, “Revolution Girl Style Now!” seemed so awesome to me. Their music has helped develop me into a strong teen girl, one not afraid to accept her bisexuality and not to use it as an excuse to show off at parties. They opened the door to me for other riot grrrl bands, as well as Le Tigre. I wouldn’t be the person I am today with out them.

Annalee Cappiello

Leave a Reply

