My Bikini Kill story is actually a Le Tigre story as well. I was 15 and living in my friend’s parents’ basement and I was just downloading a bunch of music as I was prone to do at the time. The album I downloaded was Feminist Sweepstakes and I was enthralled. It was my introduction to feminism. From there I looked up more feminist music and everything I read pointed me in the direction of Bikini Kill. The first song I listened to was “I Hate Danger” and I knew I had found IT. I fell in love with every song I listened to, it was like for the first time in my life someone understood me. Someone understood why I was angry, and like they were telling me that it was okay to be pissed off. “Alien She” spoke to me, I was in high school and I felt like I was living on a completely different wavelength than my peers. I live in Kansas, and it was just the most empowering feeling to know that someone out there didn’t want to be what was shown to them on tv and in magazines. I don’t know how to put into words how strong I felt after listening to Reject All American. It was like all of a sudden I was told that I wasn’t a freak, that I was part of something bigger than myself. The sense of community I gained from listening to a song alone, in a basement, is more powerful than I think I know how to convey. Because of Bikini Kill I felt like I had a best friend that wanted me exactly as I was, that got why I was angry at commercials, that walked me through situations I hadn’t lived through yet and taught me that I’m good enough. That is my story.

Kate Jones

Leave a Reply

